4th Report

North Ferriby United v Prescot Cables

North Ferriby United start their Unibond campaign this weekend with the visit of Prescot Cables to Church Road.
Having finished last season mid table Ferriby will be looking to consolidate on this and get off to a good start. Manager Neil Parsley is confident his side can have a big say in the Premier Division this season starting against Cables.

“We have to set our stall out for at least a top ten place and then push towards the play off place,” said Parsley. “It’s all about going into the season full of confidence which we will do on the back of some great form in the final third of last season. We also won the East Riding Cup at the end of the season so we’ll look to continue on from this.

“Pre season has not been our best due to players on holidays and having other summer commitments. From a manager’s point of view it does give me a chance to give some of the younger players a chance and they have taken it. Matty Bloor, Ricky Foster and Alex Davidson have all shown up well in pre-season. They have all had a decent amount of game time, acquitted themselves well and have a real willingness to learn.”

Parsley will be giving his two new summer signings debuts against Cables tomorrow. Both Danny Ryan a left back/left midfielder and striker Andy Haywood have joined the club from Ossett Town. The most potent striker in the Unibond last season Gary Bradshaw will start the game. This is despite having had an operation during the summer for a hernia problem.

“We have brought in two quality players in Danny and Andy and they will both start the game. Gary Bradshaw will start as we know he has a high percentage of fitness, but it’s how long he can last out.”

Ferriby take on a Prescot side who came to Church Road last season and pinched a 1-0 win. The Liverpool side finished a place below Ferriby in the final count so another tight game is expected this season.

Ferriby squad: Antoni Pecora, Andy Thompson, Danny Ryan, Neil Allison,
Paul Foot (c), Jamie Waltham, Ben Morley, Chris Bolder, Andy Hayward,
Gary Bradshaw, Michael Price, Joel Hartley, Matthew Bloor, Graham Botham, Mally Osindeinde